Emotionally Eating Myself to Death.

Here’s the deal. Last night or this morning, whichever you prefer, I’m not going to be technical here, but, this past morning at midnight was when I was able to choose my spring semester classes. Let’s just say it didn’t go off without a hitch.

It went as bad as to be expected. I am the type of person who is always early and likes to always be prepared. I was logged in ready to go at 11:50 and then at 11:58 all hell broke loose. The website would not load. I tried it many different times, in different browsers, I even restarted my computer!!

Needless to say, I was a hot-mess, minus the hot. To give you just a little back story so you don’t think I’m just a complete lunatic, this week has been rough. My advisor basically told me that I’m not graduating on time and I had to make some decisions. In retrospect, this week won’t be a big deal, but it currently is. And, I’ve dealt with it the way I always tend to………I cry……….and eat my feelings.

This is a big problem for me. What comforts me in situations like this is to curl up and eat. And I don’t eat vegetables or fruit, I dive into the bag of chips, candy, cookies, bad, bad, bad foods that I regret eating or at least eating in the quantities that I do. And the bigger problem is that eating all the food I can find, doesn’t actually make the feelings go away, it only makes me feel worse about myself. The problem is still the problem and nothing changes.

So what’s a girl to do??? Last night I wasn’t prepared for what happened to happen, but is anyone ever really prepared for stress and whatnot to happen?? So, now I need to try to prevent this from happening. I’m not going to say never again, because it probably will, but I want to take steps to slow it down to eventually being something that I have a handle on. How can I expect something that I’ve never tried to fix to instantly go away??

One thing I thought of was breathing techniques. It’s something I can do if I’m in school or public and it doesn’t have to be obvious, but it’s also something I can do at home. Anyone else have tips on how they handle emotions rather than eating?

<3, Chloe

2 thoughts on “Emotionally Eating Myself to Death.

  1. Chloe I know exactly how you feel. I am a planner as well and when I lose control I tend to binge. My only advice is to try to be as conscious as possible in the moment. Are you hungry? Do you really want to do this? Do I need to do this? Wont I feel better if I just dont EAT THIS!?!?! Maybe try journaling. Or taking a walk. I know how hard it is, and I have watched myself regain so many lbs in this same emotional eating pattern. It’s time to take control and say no! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

